VFF welcomes Victoria’s fifth Agriculture Minister in five years

Sheep Central, October 2, 2023

Victoria’s new Minister for Agriculture Ros Spence.

VICTORIA’S farmers have welcomed their fifth Minister for Agriculture in five years, with new Premier Jacinta Allan unveiling her team today.

The Labor member for Kalkallo Ros Spence will become Minister for Agriculture and Minister for Carers and Volunteers in the new cabinet, as well as retaining her responsibilities as Minister for Community Sport.

Ms Spence replaces Gayle Tierney who will become Minister for Skills and TAFE, and Minister for Regional Development.

Victorian Farmers Federation president Emma Germano congratulated Ms Spence and said the VFF looked forward to working with her and the Victorian Government to deliver for farmers and regional Victorians.

“With a new Premier hailing from regional Victoria and a new Agriculture Minister, we look forward to a renewed focus on the regions.

“I would like to thank outgoing Agriculture Minister Gayle Tierney for her work and I look forward to continuing working with her in her role as Minister for Regional Development,” Ms Germano said.

“It’s so important that the VFF and any sitting Agriculture Minister have a good working relationship, no matter who it is.

“We’ll be the first ones to pick up the phone with Minister Spence, to ensure she’s across the issues that matter most to farmers and regional Victorians.”

In the aftermath of former Premier Daniel Andrews’ resignation, Deputy Premier Ben Carroll will become Minister for Education, and Minister for Medical Research.

Tim Pallas will retain his critical responsibilities as treasurer and Minister for Industrial Relations, and take on an expanded role as Minister for Economic Growth.

Sonya Kilkenny will retain her responsibilities as Minister for Planning and also become Minister for the Suburbs.

Harriet Shing will become Minister for Housing, and Colin Brooks will become Minister for Development Victoria and Minister for Precincts. He will also become Minister for Creative Industries.

Reflecting a major new policy priority, Lizzie Blandthorn will become Minister for Children, and will also become Minister for Disability, and maintain her responsibilities as Deputy Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council.

Natalie Hutchins will lead the Department of Jobs, Skills, Industry and Regions as Minister for Jobs and Industry. She will also be Minister for Treaty and First Peoples and remain Minister for Women.

Ingrid Stitt will become Minister for Mental Health, and Minister for Ageing and Minister for Multicultural Affairs.

Danny Pearson will become Minister for Transport Infrastructure and Minister for the Suburban Rail Loop. He will retain his responsibilities as Assistant Treasurer and Minister for Worksafe and the TAC.

Mary-Anne Thomas will add the Ambulance Services portfolio to her responsibilities as Minister for Health and Minister for Health Infrastructure. She will continue to serve as Leader of the House.

Gabrielle Williams will lead the Department of Government Services as Minister for Government Services. She will also become Minister for Consumer Affairs and Minister for Public and Active Transport.

Steve Dimopolous will become Minister for the Environment and Minister for Outdoor Recreation. He will retain his role as Minister for Tourism, Sport and Major Events.

Member for Eltham Vicki Ward will join Cabinet, becoming Minister for Prevention of Family Violence and Minister for Employment.

Lily D’Ambrosio will continue to oversee Victoria’s energy transition as Minister for Climate Action, Minister for Energy and Resources and Minister for the State Electricity Commission.

Attorney General and Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council Jaclyn Symes, Minister for Police Anthony Carbines and Minister for Corrections Enver Erdogan remain in their portfolios.

Melissa Horne will continue as Minister for Roads and Road Safety, and Minister for Ports and Freight, as well as Minister for Local Government and Minister for Casino, Gaming and Liquor Regulation.

Natalie Suleyman remains Minister for Veterans, Minister for Youth and Minister for Small Business. Steve McGhie remains the cabinet secretary.

The ministry will be sworn in today, and be supported in their work by a number of Machinery of Government changes, effective from early 2024.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your comment will not appear until it has been moderated.
Contributions that contravene our Comments Policy will not be published.


Get Sheep Central's news headlines emailed to you -