New Australian Wool Industry Medal nominees sought

Sheep Central, March 14, 2018

2017 Australian Wool Industry Medal winners Nan Allison, Peter Morgan and Sally Martin.

WORTHY wool industry workers are being sought for the second round of Australian Wool Industry Medal nominations.

The Federation of Australian Wool Organisations Inc. is calling for nominations for the 2018 Australian Wool Industry Medal.

The Australian Wool Industry Medal recognises men and women who have made an exceptional and sustained contribution to the Australian wool industry. The medal was first introduced in 2017 and 11 recipients were found from all facets of the wool industry.

FAWO chairman David Michell said the Australian Wool Industry Medal comes at a time when there is much to celebrate in today’s wool industry.

“The Australian wool industry is resilient and contributes over $3.5 billion dollars to the Australian economy.

“We are a proud industry and to be able to celebrate the success of the men and women who have helped shape this industry by making a real difference through their dedication, pursuit of excellence and achievement is important,” he said.

“We all know people in the industry who we admire and look up to for their energy, contribution and impact they have on our industry.”

Individuals, community organisations, professional bodies and those across the wool industry are encouraged to nominate extraordinary people from producing to shearing, from education to science, from wool classing to fashion for consideration for these awards.

The announcement of the 2018 Australian Wool Industry Medal recipients takes place at a special presentation at the National Wool Week dinner on August 23 2018 in Melbourne.

“The Australian Wool Industry Medal is a positive initiative for the wool industry as it will bring forward nominations of people from a diverse range of backgrounds,” Mr Michell said.

“The Australian wool industry is the world’s largest and is recognized globally as the leader in fibre quality, professional standards and research excellence.

“This award will enhance the profile of an industry steeped in history and achievement.”

Categories of eligible nominees include, but are not limited to: wool growers, brokers, shearers, wool classers, researchers, buyers, educators and those engaged in marketing and industry services. Further information and a nomination form can be downloaded from

Nominations for the 2018 Australian Wool Industry Medal close at close of business on May 1 2018.

The AWIM is fully supported by FAWO and its members: Federation of Australian Wool Organisation members: Australian Council of Wool Exporters and Processors, Australian Wool Exchange, Australian Wool Handlers, Australian Wool Innovation, Australian Wool Testing Authority, The National Council of Wool Selling Brokers of Australia and WoolProducers Australia.

Source: FAWO.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your comment will not appear until it has been moderated.
Contributions that contravene our Comments Policy will not be published.


Get Sheep Central's news headlines emailed to you -