Livestock SA president and directors re-elected

Sheep Central, August 31, 2015
LivestockSA president Geoff Power

LivestockSA president Geoff Power

LIVESTOCK SA president Geoff Power has retained his seat at the head of the South Australian farmer body in the latest board member election.

Mr Power will now hold the position at least until the next board meeting on September 18.

But the body’s treasurer Alexander MacLachlan was not re-elected, meaning a new director will need to be elevated to the position at the board meeting.

Successful candidates in Livestock SA’s second board member election have been were announced at the organisation’s Annual General Meeting at the University of Adelaide’s Roseworthy campus last Friday.

Of the nine nominations received by Livestock SA, the five successful candidates in the 2015 election include four returned board members and one new member:

  • – Geoff Power, Orroroo.
  • – Jack England, Kingston.
  • – Richard Halliday, Bordertown.
  • – Andy Withers, Naracoorte.
  • – Allan Piggott, new member from Moorlands.

These members join those continuing for the second of their two-year term including Andrew Clarke, Oodnadatta, Joe Keynes, Keyneton, Bill Nosworthy, Elliston, Steve Radeski, Woodside, and Penny Schulz, Field.

Livestock SA chief executive officer Deane Crabb said the voting turnout remained strong this year with 26 percent of members returning votes from an increased membership base.

“This shows continued strong support and interest from producers on who represents them beyond their farm gate,” he said.

“Livestock SA acknowledges the contribution of producers who supported the election process, including Roger Farley, Tom Hampton, Greg Stevens and Alexander MacLachlan.

“A special acknowledgement goes to Mr MacLachlan as treasurer of Livestock SA and a founding board member of the organisation,” Mr Crabbe said.

His support and feedback has been integral in the establishment of Livestock SA and it’s initial work as a strong and independent voice for livestock producers.”

Mr Crabb said the AGM was attended by about 70 producers and industry stakeholders and supported a motion that a cattle transaction levy should be established in South Australia instead of the current levy on tag sales.

A series of new opportunities for commercial support of the organisation and benefits to members were also announced.

“Livestock SA has had a very successful year – our membership continues to grow, with currently 2368 members and, with support from the Northern and Southern Regions, we are advocating for producers on a range of issues to government and industry,” Mr Crabb said.

Source: Livestock SA


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your comment will not appear until it has been moderated.
Contributions that contravene our Comments Policy will not be published.


Get Sheep Central's news headlines emailed to you -