Future wool industry leaders gather in South Australia

Sheep Central February 23, 2018

The 2018 AWI Breeding Leadership participants.

FUTURE wool industry leaders participated in the Australian Wool Innovation Breeding Leadership course in South Australia this week.

The biennial, week-long program is designed to improve the leadership skills of young people already in the wool industry.

AWI chief executive officer Stuart McCullough said it was great to meet these young people and speak with a room filled with optimism and hope and gained some great insights into their vision for the future of wool.

Mr McCullough delivered a session sharing the AWI strategic direction and insights into current and planned projects.

Since its inception, Breeding Leadership has put more than 150 young people through the course; many of them, such as current WoolPoll Chairman Syd Lawrie, hold leading roles in the wool industry today.

Anna Cotton of Swansea in Tasmania undertook Breeding Leadership in 2016 and said she loved every minute “not only the content but the connections made”.

Anthony Yeo, from Canowindra in NSW, said he had “lots to take away and work with my team on including better communication.” Anna and Anthony were present at the 2018 session to share with the group their learnings and journey since they attended Breeding Leadership in 2016.

Participants have been selected from throughout the wool industry and had backgrounds ranging from on-farm to education and wool marketing.

The 2018 course was deliver by consultancy firm Rural Directions in Clare, South Australia. The program covered personal leadership skills as well as strategic planning and team leadership. It also included an industry tour of Michell Wool and Anlaby Station, local farm tours and guest speakers.

2018 Breeding Leadership participants

New South Wales:

Alexandra Cesnik, Gumly Gumly

Jayde Cluff, Deniliquin

Roy Elliott, Eumungerie

Jock Fisher, Gulargambone

Ross Fletcher, Walcha

Ally Jaffrey, Crookwell

Henry Ridge, Sydney

Mark Scott, Sydney

South Australia:

Angus Ashby, Gulnare

Chelsea Hahlenburg, Naracoorte

Angus Halliday,  Bordertown

Royce Pitchford, Clare

William Sandow, Watervale

Western Australia:

Stephen Chappell, Lake Grace

Daniel Dempster, Goomalling

Kyle Gumprich, Narrogin

Justin Haydock, Narrogin

Alex House, Claremont

Carl Storer, Cunderdin


Benn Wilson, Dirranbandi


John Chester, Campbell Town


Sam Crawford, Dunkeld

Oliver Vidor, Derrinallum

Source: AWI.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your comment will not appear until it has been moderated.
Contributions that contravene our Comments Policy will not be published.


Get Sheep Central's news headlines emailed to you -