Free bus for RASV Flock of Year tour across north-east Victoria

Sheep Central, February 17, 2016
Flock of the Year competition judges Michael Collins, left, and Phil Toland, in action last year.

Flock of the Year competition judges Michael Collins, left, and Phil Toland, in action last year.

A FREE shuttle bus will transport wool growers around Victoria’s McLennan-McColl Flock of the Year competition nine entrant properties in the state’s north-east on March 17 and 18.

The competition tour will also incorporate a North East Victoria Sire Evaluation trial visit, supported by the Australian Merino Sire Evaluation Association and the North East Merinos, displaying both 2014 and 2015 drops on Day 1 of competition.

Competition organisers, the Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria and Merino Victoria, have appointed three judges for the two days of judging on March 17 and 18.

They are retired co-founder of the One Oak Merino Stud Graham Wells, experienced Merino breeder, former vice president of the Australian Stud Merino Breeders Jock MacRae and 2014 RASV Young Australian Sheep Breeder of the Year Daniel Rogers.

The competition winner will be presented with a $1500 cash prize on March 18. Area residents and wool industry participants are encouraged to join the bus tour.

Competition entries growing

RASV chief executive officer Mark O’Sullivan said the 2016 McLennan-McColl Victorian Flock of the Year had been well-received in the north-east Victoria region, with the organisation encouraged by the continual growth of entries.

“RASV is committed to providing opportunities in regional areas, for producers to benchmark their products, showcase excellence and promote the development of the industry.

“We are delighted to see so many high calibre properties on the list of entrants for the 2016 Flock of the Year and look forward to observing the outstanding quality of merino production in the North-East region next month,” Mr O’Sullivan said.

For a full schedule of property opening times, more information on the competition or to register for the free property tour bus visit or contact Grant Coverdale, RASV on 03 9281 7412 or [email protected]

The competition is sponsored by the North East Merino Group, Elders Rural Services, Landmark and Peter Davis Rural.

2016 McLennan-McColl Flock of the Year judging order

Day 1

 David Sleigh, 1707 Longwood-Ruffy Road, Ruffy

 Robert and Tim Hayes, 211 Tarcombe-Ruffy Road, Ruffy

 David Freeman, 935 Highlands Road, Whiteheads Creek, Seymour – North East Victoria Sire Evaluation

 John Gross and Neil Seach, Castle Creek 390 Curries Road, Molka

Day 2

 Tom Wren sheep on display at Pelluebla Road. Travel 5km south of Tungamah on the Tungamah/St James Road, turn right onto Pelluebla road, the shearing shed is 500m on the right.

 Simon Wall, 1275 Cemetery Road, Gowangardie

 Robert Prowse & Ray Penberthy sheep on display at 995 Basin Road, Violet Town.

 Jim & Liz Renkin, 47 Lima Road Swanpool, Lima

 Andrew & Kerri Leask sheep on display at 1216 Castle Hill Road, Swanpool

Source: RASV



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your comment will not appear until it has been moderated.
Contributions that contravene our Comments Policy will not be published.


Get Sheep Central's news headlines emailed to you -