Wool Trade

Top young Australian wool brokers sought for 2020 award

Terry Sim, March 30, 2020

The 2019 NCWSBA Broker Award finalists, from left, Landmark’s Matthew Chambers, winner Elders’ Sam Wan, and Austrralian Wool Network’s Russell Macgugan.

THE annual search for Australia’s top young wool brokers is on again, with nominations being sought for the sector’s top award.

The National Council of Wool Brokers of Australia today called for nominations for its prestigious 2020 NCWSBA Wool Broker Award, which is sponsored by Sheep Central and the Australian Wool Testing Authority.

The Award is in its ninth successful year and recognises excellence in service to wool growers, auctioneering and/or innovation by an outstanding wool broker employee who is working for a NCWSBA member and has been in the wool broking industry for 10 years or less.

NCWSBA president John Colley said the objective of the award is to encourage newer members of the Australian wool broking industry and promote excellence in all aspects of wool broking.

“NCWSBA, through the award, has been promoting both wool broking and the Australian wool industry as an interesting prospective career for young people, including graduates, since 2012.

“We also seek to raise the profile of and increase the understanding of the important role of wool brokers.”

The prize in 2020 is a fully paid trip to attend the 2021 congress of the International Wool Textile Organisation to be held in Kyoto, Japan in May 2021. Arrangements will also be made for the 2020 award winner to visit the wool textile industry and retailers in Japan. The award has been made possible by the generous support of the award sponsors – AWTA Ltd and Sheep Central.

Mr Colley said past winners of the award have attended IWTO Congresses in China, Hong Kong, the United Kingdom, Italy and South Africa.

“The award winners have also visited wool textile mills and wool growing properties in these countries, expanding their experience and understanding of the global wool industry.”

Due to the cancellation of the 2020 IWTO Congress due to the COVID-19 pandemic, it is now planned that the 2019 Wool Broker Award winner, Samantha Wan, will go to the Nanjing Wool Market Conference in Haining, China in September. She will also visit wool textile mills in Zhejiang and Jiangsu provinces.

To be eligible for the 2020 NCWSBA award, applicants must have been working in the wool broking industry for 10 years or less and be employed by an NCWSBA member company. Full details and application forms are available from the NCWSBA Office. Call 0419344259 or email [email protected]

Applications close on 26 June 2020. An independent Selection Panel will review all applications and short listed Finalists will be notified by 24th July. The Finalists will attend the NCWSBA’s Annual General Meeting to give a short presentation in support of their nomination at the RACV Club, Melbourne on 27 August. The winner will be announced at the Wool Week dinner, which will be held on Thursday, 27 August at the RACV Club Dining room, Melbourne.

Click here for 2020 NCWSBA Wool Broker award nomination details.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your comment will not appear until it has been moderated.
Contributions that contravene our Comments Policy will not be published.


Get Sheep Central's news headlines emailed to you -