Minister for Agriculture announces drought grants

Terry Sim, August 29, 2022

Sheep getting supplementary feed during drought conditions in New South Wales.

GRANTS of $200,000-$500,000 are now available for community organisations in 35 regions for projects to help regional Australians prepare for future drought events.

Successful applicants can also get access to leadership development support for their communities.

The grants are part of the Australian Government’s Future Drought Fund, administered in partnership with the Foundation for Rural and Regional Renewal and the Australian Rural Leadership Foundation.

Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry Senator Murray Watt said the grants are part of the Albanese Government’s ongoing commitment to helping regional communities adapt to the changing climate.

“We need to support regional communities to start preparing for the return of dry conditions—now.

“The grants will help communities with greater drought risk build the skills and networks needed to get ahead of the drought cycle,” he said.

“They can be used in a range of ways, including events, training, capability building and small infrastructure projects, and we encourage community groups to apply.”

The Future Drought Fund’s Community Impact Program is being delivered as part of the new $29.6 million Helping Regional Communities Prepare for Drought Initiative.

Successful applicants will also receive leadership development support, so community organisations and local people can learn the adaptive skills to become drought resilience leaders.

The Future Drought Fund is partnering with the Foundation for Rural and Regional Renewal (FRRR) and the Australian Rural Leadership Foundation (ARLF) to deliver the program, drawing on their expertise and networks to meet the needs of regional people and communities.

“The Albanese Government is committed to collaboration with every level of government, industry and communities when it comes to drought and strategies to help adapt to our variable climate,” Mr Watt said.

“The FRRR and ARLF will work with other existing Future Drought Fund delivery partners in each region to build off community drought resilience programs already underway.

“I’m looking forward to seeing the impact of community organisations connecting with existing drought knowledge in their region, so they’re better prepared for the next drought,” he said.

Eligible regions and local government areas


Far West: Balranald, Bourke, Brewarrina, Broken Hill, Central Darling, Walgett, Wentworth, Unincorporated NSW

Murray: Albury, Berrigan, Edward River, Federation, Greater Hume Shire, Hay, Murray River, Murrumbidgee

Central West: Bogan, Cobar, Coonamble, Cowra, Dubbo, Forbes, Gilgandra, Hilltops, Lachlan, Mid-Western, Narromine, Parkes, Upper Lachlan, Warren, Warrumbungle, Weddin

North-West: Gunnedah, Liverpool Plains, Narrabri, Tamworth, Walcha

Northern Tablelands: Armidale, Glen Innes Severn, Gwydir, Inverell, Tenterfield, Uralla


Central West: Barcaldine, Barcoo, Blackall-Tambo, Boulia, Diamantina, Longreach, Winton

South-West: Balonne, Bulloo, Maranoa, Murweh, Paroo, Quilpie

Darling Downs and South Burnett: Bundaberg, Cherbourg, Goondiwindi, North Burnett, South Burnett, Southern Downs, Toowoomba, Western Downs

Fitzroy Capricornia: Banana, Central Highlands, Gladstone, Livingstone, Rockhampton, Woorabinda

North-West: Burke, Carpentaria, Cloncurry, Doomagee, Flinders, Mackinlay, Mt Isa, Richmond

Hinterland to Gulf: Croydon, Etheridge, Mareeba Shire

Northern Queensland Dry Tropics: Burdekin, Charters Towers, Isaac, Mackay, Palm Island, Townsville, Whitsunday

Cape York-Torres Strait: Arukun, Cook, Hope Vale, Kowanyama, Lockhart River, Mapoon, Mornington, Napranum, Northern Peninsula, Pormpuraaw, Torres, Torres Strait Island, Weipa, Wujal Wujal


Arid Lands: Alice Springs, Central Desert, MacDonnell

Tablelands: Coomalie, Katherine, Litchfield, Roper Gully, Unincorporated NT, Victoria Daly, West Daly


Gascoyne: Carnarvon, Exmouth, Shark Bay, Upper Gascoyne

Wheatbelt Central: Bruce Rock, Kellerberrin, Koorda, Merredin, Mt Marshall, Mukinbudin, Narembeen, Nungarin, Trayning, Yilgarn

Wheatbelt South: Brookton, Corrigin, Cuballing, Dumbleyung, Kondinin, Kulin, Lake Grace, Narrogin, Pingelly, Wagin, West Arthur, Wickepin, Williams

Great Southern: Albany, Broomehill-Tambellup, Cranbrook, Denmark, Gnowangerup, Jerramungup, Katanning, Kent, Kojonup, Plantagenet, Woodanilling

Mid-West: Carnamah, Chapman Valley, Coorow, Cue, Greater Geraldton, Irwin, Meekatharra, Mingenew, Morawa, Mouth Magnet, Murchison, Northampton, Perenjori, Sandstone, Three Springs, Wiluna, Yalgoo

South-West: Augusta-Margaret River, Boyup Brook, Bridgetown-Greenbushes, Bunbury, Busselton, Capel, Dardanup, Donnybrook-Balingup, Harvey, Manjimup, Nannup


Arid Lands: Coober Pedy, Flinders Ranges (north), Port Augusta, Roxby Downs, Unincorporated SA

Eyre Peninsula: Ceduna, Cleve, Elliston, Franklin Harbour, Kimba, Lower Eyre Peninsula, Port Lincoln, Streaky Bay, Tumby Bay, Whyalla, Wudinna

Northern and Yorke: Adelaide Plains, Barossa, Barunga West, Clare and Gilbert Valley, Copper Coast, Flinders Ranges (south), Goyder, Light, Mount Remarkable, Northern Areas, Orroroo Carrieton, Peterborough, Port Pirie City, Wakefield, Yorke Peninsula

Murraylands and Riverland: Berri and Barmera, Coorong, Karoona East Murray, Loxton Waikerie, Mid Murray, Murray Bridge, Renmark Paringa, Southern Mallee

Limestone Coast: Grant, Kingston, Mount Gambier, Naracoorte Lucindale, Robe, Tatiara, Wattle Range


Barwon: Buloke, Gannawarra, Mildura, Swan Hill

Loddon Campaspe: Campaspe, Central Goldfields, Greater Bendigo, Loddon, Macedon Rangers, Mount Alexander

Wimmera Southern Mallee: Hindmarsh, Horsham, Northern Grampians, West Wimmera, Yarriambiack

East Gippsland: East Gippsland

Goulburn: Greater Shepparton, Mitchell, Moira, Murrindingi, Strathbogie

West Gippsland: Bass Coast, Baw Baw, Latrobe, South Gippsland, Wellington

Ovens Murray: Alpine, Benalla, Indigo, Mansfield, Towong, Wangaratta, Wodonga


North and North-West: Break O’Day, Burnie, Central Coast, Circular Head, Devonport, Dorset, Flinders, George Town, Kentish, King Island, Latrobe, Launceston, Meander Valley, Northern Midlands, Waratah/Wynyard, West Coast, West Tamar

South: Brighton, Central Highlands, Clarence, Derwent Valley, Glamorgan/Spring Bay, Glenorchy, Hobart, Huon Valley, Kingborough, Sorell, Southern Midlands, Tasman

To learn more and apply click here.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your comment will not appear until it has been moderated.
Contributions that contravene our Comments Policy will not be published.


Get Sheep Central's news headlines emailed to you -